Field/Buttons Purpose

Location

Enter the location where you would like your backup files to be saved. Click the ellipsis [...] button to select a backup location. The location you choose is very important. DO NOT save your backup files to the same drive where KHS is installed. This is dangerous since your hard drive could fail and you would have no way to recover your data. But if you have no other option, by all means, save it to your hard drive. The only exception would be if you use a Cloud based service like OneDrive or DropBox and have set up local folders on your hard drive that are automatically synced with a Cloud storage system.

If you do not use a Cloud based service, it is highly recommend that you purchase a USB Flash Drive ($10 or less) and save your backup files directly to one of these devices. They are very simple to use. Simply plug a USB Flash Drive into your computer and Windows will assign a drive letter to the device. Then change the backup location to save to this drive letter. We recommend you leave the USB Flash Drive plugged into your computer when using KHS so a new backup file will be created when you exit the program.

If you receive the message, "The program is unable to delete older backup files which may prevents new backup files from being saved. Please delete all backups more than a week old.", delete all older backup files manually.

... (ellipsis button) Click the ellipsis button to select a location to store your back up files.
Sauvegarde Click this button to manually back up your database. The name of each backup file will include your KHS user name and the date and time saved. Here is an example of a backup file:

KHS Backup for Joseph Majestic 2014-08-02 17.35.04.zip

In this example the backup was saved on August 2, 2014 at 5:35 PM

A new backup file will automatically be saved every time you exit the program.

Fermer Close the backup screen
Data Sync

Data Sync will sync your KHS backup files between multiple computers. This feature is automatic so there is nothing to enable. Here's how it works:

  • You have a copy KHS on a computer at home and another copy of KHS on a computer at work
  • You save all of your KHS backup files to a cloud server like OneDrive or DropBox
  • While at work you make some changes and exit KHS which creates a new backup file
  • Later you open KHS at home and are prompted that a newer backup is available, you click Yes to restore that data
  • The changes you made at work have been restored on your home computer
  • Later that evening you make more changes in KHS and call it a day
  • When you open KHS at work the next day you are prompted to restore a newer backup file
  • You click Yes and now see all of the changes you made the night before

Important:  This feature is for a single registered user. If you save your backup files to a cloud server accessed by other users of KHS and restored one of their backup files by mistake, you could lose recent changes made to your schedules. Allow several minutes for newly saved backup files to be available on other computers as cloud servers do not sync instantaneously.

Menu Options Purpose
Restaurer

The Restore menu option will launch a screen asking you to select from a list of existing KHS Backup files. Normally you would select the most recent file and work backwards in time until you find the data you are seeking.

Warning: restoring from a back up file will overwrite all changes made since your last back up!

Back to Top